About Pasture Summit

Pasture Summit was established in 2017 by a group of progressive and committed farm business owners and dairy sector experts from across New Zealand & Ireland. With a wealth of experience and knowledge on our organising committee, Pasture Summit is organised and run by farmers, for farmers and supported by dairy industry research and extension leader (DairyNZ).

NZ Chairman: Colin Armer 

Colin is a North Island based dairy farmer with a keen interest in systems for profitable food production from grass, he is a director of Dairy Holdings Ltd and AgResearch Ltd.

“This conference is about people who are driven to create a prosperous future producing food from pasture farming and knowing the benefits to consumers.”


NZ Treasurer: Colin Glass 

A qualified Chartered Accountant, Colin holds a Commerce Degree in Farm Management and a post-graduate Diploma in Accountancy and Corporate Finance from Lincoln University. Colin is the Chief Executive of Dairy Holdings Ltd and has been involved in the New Zealand dairy industry all his life and the Australian dairy industry for the period from 1997 to 2008.

Colin is married to Paula and they have two daughters. In addition to his involvement with Dairy Holdings Ltd, Colin is a DairyNZ Director, a Director of a number of irrigation and agribusiness companies and has his own farming interests in Mid-Canterbury.

“We must use pasture to improve our environmental footprint. This will demand leading edge science and research.”


NZ Secretary: Alistair Rayne

Dairfarming at Darfield since 2003 with wife Sharon, along with four daughters and far too many horses. Sharemilking prior to 2003, preceded by ten years in dairy extension in NZ and Ireland. Strong advocate of robust science and analysis and of simple farm systems that are both repeatable and highly profitable.

“I’m a firm believer that farming should be enjoyable and rewarding, and should grow the technical, financial and leadership capability of those engaged in it.”

NZ Committee Members: 

Leonie Guiney  (SI Dairy Farmer)

Olin Greenan   (NI Dairy Farmer)

Greg Roadley (SI Dairy Farmer)

Donald and Maree Anderson (NI Dairy Farmers)

Corrigan Sowman  (SI Dairy Farmer) 

Daniel Woolsey (SI Dairy Farmer)

Robert Ferris (NI Dairy Farmer)

Andrew Myers (NI Dairy Farmer)

Will Grayling   (SI Dairy Farmer)

John Gregan (SI Dairy Farmer)

Arthur Bryan   (NI Dairy Farmer)

Ken Bartlett (LIC)

Murray King (LIC)

Danny Donaghy  (Massey University)

Steven Kelly (MPI representative)

John Roche (MPI)

Jim Van Der Poel (DairyNZ Chairman) 

Michael Murphy (Ireland)

Lynaire Ryan (Irish group organiser)

Anne Bird (Event organiser)

From DairyNZ: 

Tim Mackle (CEO)

Bruce Thorrold

David McCall

Tony Finch

Paul Bird

Mark Neal